The Diamond and the Boy: The Creation of Diamonds & The Life of H. Tracy Hall

RM51.50

Book Condition: 9/10

Type of Defect: 

  • Slight damage to the dust cover.
  • Bumped corner. 

Find out more about Hurt Books here.

Before a diamond is a gem, it’s a common grey rock called graphite. Through an intense trial of heat and pressure, it changes into one of the most valuable stones in the world.

Before Tracy Hall was an inventor, he was a boy—born into poverty, bullied by peers, forced to work at an early age. However, through education and experimentation, he became one of the brightest innovators of the twentieth century, eventually building a revolutionary machine that makes diamonds.

Told in a unique dual-narrative format, The Diamond and the Boy follows the stories of both natural diamond creation and the life of H. Tracy Hall, the inventor of the revolutionary diamond-making machine. Perfect for fans of Rosie Revere, Engineer, and On a Beam of Light: A Story of Albert Einstein. This nonfiction picture book is an excellent choice to share during homeschooling, in particular for children ages 4 to 6. It’s a fun way to learn to read and as a supplement for activity books for children.

 

 

4 in stock

Description

Goodreads Ratings:
3.94369/5
  • Author: Hannah Holt
  • Illustrator: Jay Fleck
  • Book Format: Hardcover
  • Number of pages: 40
  • ISBN: 9780062659033
  • Book Dimensions: 9.8 x 0.3 x 9.7 inches

Additional information

By Book Format

Hardcover

By Reader

Books for Transitional to Independent Readers

By Book Genre

Character-Building, Non-fiction, Special Interest & Hobbies

By Book Type

Picture Books

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Diamond and the Boy: The Creation of Diamonds & The Life of H. Tracy Hall”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *